Revamp reading group starts May 2024

Revamp reading group starts May 2024

Author:

TUWHIRI ONLINE BOOK READING GROUP

Revamp: writings on secular Buddhism

by Winton Higgins

Wednesdays from 15 May through 28 Aug 2024 on Zoom

PLUS a Q&A session with Winton Higgins at the end

 

A living tradition, Buddhism began as a way of working with the difficulties we all face as mortal, vulnerable, conscious beings. Its founder imbued this practice with an ethic of care and teachings we can use today to interpret our experience and as a guide to full human flourishing.

Since the Buddha’s death, the dharma has been expressed in many ways in different cultural settings, and often these border crossings enriched it. But when the dharma appeared in religious guise, it became burdened with cosmic beliefs, its practice regimented, and was used as an instrument of social control, stifling the freedom at its heart.

Secularity encourages a search for the good life in today’s circumstances, not as prescribed by timeless myths. As part of the process of the dharma putting down roots in the west, secular Buddhism offers the vitality of the early dharma, free of religious distortions.

In Revamp: writings on secular Buddhism Winton Higgins tracks the emergence of secular Buddhism with a focus on today’s climate emergency and intensifying social injustice that cry out for radical socioeconomic and political change. The ethic of care that underpins a creative dharma practice, he suggests, calls on us all to bring our training to bear on these urgent tasks.

Session start times in a range of time zones
  • Hawaii 11am HST Wed 15 May
  • US/Canada west coast 2pm PST Wed 15 May
  • US/Canada east coast 5pm EDT Wed 15 May
  • London 10pm BST Wed 15 May
  • Europe 11pm CEST Wed 15 May
  • Adelaide 6.30am ACST Thu 16 May
  • Sydney 7am AEST Thu 16 May
  • Wellington 9am NZST Thu 16 May

Facilitation
As with many book reading groups, this one will determine how to share the facilitation process among participants during its first session.

Cost
While there’s no fee to take part, to confirm your place we ask that you send Tuwhiri AUD $40 / USD $40 (or the equivalent in your currency). This will be returned to you after the second session. After the final session, participants will have an opportunity to offer dana to Winton Higgins.

Resources

Participants will be sent a code to get 10 percent off the paperback and digital versions of Revamp in Tuwhiri’s online store, where prices include postage for all of Tuwhiri’s printed books.

Download the free Guide for reading group and individual study. 

To take part

For more info and to reserve your place send us an email.

About the author
Winton Higgins has been a Buddhist practitioner since 1987 and a teacher of insight meditation since 1995. He has contributed to the development of a secular Buddhism internationally, and is a senior teacher for Sydney Insight Meditators.

Back to blog